The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) regulates three cornerstone service industries in Minnesota's economy, i.e., electricity, natural gas and telephone. Commission staff consists of approximately 50 permanent full-time staff. The Commission consists of five commissioners appointed by the governor to six-year, staggered terms. By law, no more than three commissioners can be of the same political party and at least one commissioner must reside at the time of appointment outside the seven-county metropolitan area. Commissioners must be persons learned in the law, engineering, public accounting, property and utility valuation, finance, physical or natural sciences, production agriculture or natural resources as well as being representative of the general public. The governor designates one of the commissioners to serve as chair. The commissioners and staff work full time at the Commission's office in Saint Paul, except when attending hearings in other parts of the state.

Past Print Ads